Pork Curry and brown rice

I know my photos are not the best. But this is my first recipe post and was super unplanned. So, you get cruddy cell phone pictures today!

Yay!

-_-

But, if I make this again (which I will) and remember (which I probably will not), I will take new and better pictures and swap them out.

Oh, and pardon my kitchen counter. It is currently cluttered with what I consider ‘contraband’ (chips, candy, cookies) because it is being put into gift baskets for my mother’s coworkers.

Ingredients

After Week8 Day1 of C25k (w5min, r28min, w5min) for a total of 38 minutes plus an extra 40 minutes of on and off walking/jogging , I have been starving all day. And today, I had a craving…

A craving I could not ignore…

A craving for something that wasn’t just a plain slice of protein and a vegetable.

I wanted something with a little more flavor and substance. And since I am not able to have the different ethnic foods I am used to being able to have at will due to my diet…I craved something…different.

And then I found/made this

First, you should know this recipe was adapted from THIS recipe by the Rule of Yum channel on Youtube. Their ingredient list is listed below. My adaptations will be in red.

What you need:

1 lb of pork loin Pork loin was not in this unemployed teacher’s budget. So, for $2.19 I was able to find 5 thinly sliced boneless and lean porkchops which worked well.

2 large onion I used 3/4 of one large yellow onion

1 red bell pepper sliced I only had a GREEN bell pepper on hand

6 garlic cloves 1.5 tsp minced prepared garlic ( 8/20/12 Check back later for that ‘recipe’ tip)

1 in minced ginger

Handful chopped scallions

Handful chopped cilantro I forgot to buy this…so it didn’t get included

6 or 7 basil leaves, julienned

1 cup shiitake mushrooms 1/2 a bag of White button mushrooms

1 can bamboo shoots

1 can coconut milk 1 can LITE coconut milk

1 Tbsp red curry paste

1 tsp fish sauce

1 bay leaf

1 steamer bag of brown rice. Make the rice of your choice in the way of your choice.

Directions

1. Cut up your pork into easy to chew slices/chunks/strips/whatever you fancy. Season to your liking and set aside. I seasoned with salt, pepper, onion and garlic powder.

2. Prepare your vegetables, seasonings and drain bamboo slices. Set aside

3. Skim the settled coconut milk off the top as well as the lid and add that to about 1/4 cup of the coconut milk (or enough to coat the pan) and add to a hot pan.

4. Once coconut milk has begun to simmer, add curry paste and stir to dissolve. Bring back to a light simmer for about 2 minutes

5. Add minced garlic and ginger. Simmer for about 2 minutes

6. Add pork and stir to coat with the curry mixture . Allow to partially cook. Do not cook pork fully at this step, or it will be tough by the time you serve it. Time will vary on thickness and heat, so be sure to watch it.

7. Add ALL veggies, bamboo shoots, basil, scallions, fish sauce, bay leaf, and remaining coconut milk into to the pan and stir. At this point, adjust the amount of curry to your liking.  My mom and I LOVE curry…and the 1tbs was just not enough for us. So I think I used about 2.5 tbs to get the desired taste. Also, adjust your salt if you need to.

8. Allow to come back to a simmer for 8-10 minutes or until pork is cooked and vegetables are tender. If you look into your pan and don’t think there is enough liquid, relax. When you place the lid on your pan the moisture from all of the veggies and the closed lid will allow the sauce to ‘thin’ out.

9. Serve over brown rice.

Presentation sucks, I know. But I was still starving from the morning run and was more focused on eating while it was hot. Not beauty. 🙂

Wait!!

If you are like me in anyway, you probably forgot about the bay leaf at this point because you just wanted to chow down! Be sure to either remove and discard the bay leaf before serving…OR…be like me and just tell the people you are serving it to “I forgot to pull the bay leaf out. I only used one…so if you get it, just well…get rid of it.”

Wait…again!!!

Obviously, this recipe can be adjusted to whatever works for you.

Do you not eat pork? Ok, use chicken or fish/seafood.

Do you not eat meat? Ok, fill it with more veggies.

Do you prefer spicy? Add it!

You think something else would taste awesome instead of something or in addition to what is already there? Put it in there!

This is just what I liked, and what my family likes. Change whatever you need to in order for it to be your favorite.

This recipe is just a suggestion.

Leave a Reply

