Do you smell something burning?

Oh, sorry…

That is just me on ffffffffiiiiiiiiyyyyyyyyaaaaaaaahhhhhh

*ahem*

On fire.

When you shake what you got, and girl, you’ve got a lot
You’re really somethin’, child, yes, you are
When you’re hot you’re hot, you really shoot your shot
You’re dyn-o-mite, child, yeah

If you can name the song and the quote in the caption you get kudos from me!

(Hint: It is used as the theme song to a prime time cooking show/competition on FOX)

But yes, I was nominated as a blog on fire award by Amanda over at Peanut Butter and Adrenaline. I believe her blog was one of the first blogs I started to follow. In her ‘About me’ section I saw so much of myself that I told myself there was no way I couldn’t follow her! Recent college graduate, and, at the time, thrown into the real world looking for work (congrats again btw!). When you get a chance, go check out her blog, click the follow button…and read!

I started this blog to keep myself accountable for my exercise and journey to a healthier life. After graduating from college and receiving my teaching credential, I hit my all time high of unhealthy. My clothing sizes were two numbers that closely resembled my age (and if you don’t know my age…don’t bother asking. Not telling). It was embarrassing and it always has been embarrassing, but I never did anything about it. I have always been larger than average and one day it just hit me that I tired of it and needed to make a change.

Feb 2012

Aug 2012

I made that change mid February 2012

And am happy to say I have lost 80 pounds thanks to diet, exercise (HIIT and C25k), and discipline!

This blog is helping me chronicle this journey and hopefully be a motivation to someone who is exactly like my former self…afraid. Afraid to succeed. Afraid to do. And afraid to live.

I will eventually do whole post on my before and after. But that will have to wait.

So, when you are nominated you are supposed to list 8 things about yourself and then nominate some other blogs to keep this train going. So here it goes…

8 things about me:

1. I majored in music from CSU, East Bay and have played the clarinet since I was in the 5th grade (I think I have reached 16 years I honestly have stopped counting). I originally wanted to play the violin. But my mom didn’t want to hear the “dying cats” all day long. Then I wanted to play the drums…I got a laugh which I took as a ‘no’. Then I decided trumpet…looking back, I have no idea why she said no. So I was down to flute, clarinet and saxophone. I wasn’t interested in flute and the saxophone case at the time was too big to carry back and forth leading me to pick the clarinet.

Best. Choice. Ever.

Can you spot me? Right Corner in the front. CSU, East Bay symphonic band. Circa 2009 maybe?

2.  I hate peanut butter. If you read my post a couple of days ago…you would know I hate peanut butter but have to take about a teaspoon before every jog since I go out on an empty stomach.

Can honestly say that is a lot harder than the jog itself. Blech!

3. At 6ft tall, I am taller than my mother, my father, and my S.O.

4. Depending on the shoe, I wear either a size 12 or 13. Which sucks because most stores do not stock my size and I have to get men’s shoes…and men’s shoes are not as cool as women’s shoes being grey with maybe a strip of blue or lime green. Where is the color guys?!?! But that’s ok. Nobody is looking at my feet right?

5. I like to crochet and make jewelry. In fact, I have an Etsy shop called The Starving Musician. I had to take a break from it this past year as I had lost motivation while I was out looking for a full time teaching position. But I am slowly starting to bring it back and am getting to schedule some craft shows during the holiday season.

A pair of earrings

One of the crochet shawls I made.

6. I love going to renaissance fairs! I go just about every year. No, I do not dress up. Or at least at my previous size I did not. Who knows, I may start.

7. I am a huge animal lover. I have my 15 year old German shepherd/Collie named Buddy, my Siamese manx mix named Tweaker (mom’s choice) and about 2 strays in the back that I feed and play with named Humphrey (he had a brother named Bogart…but we have not seen him in about a year 😦 ) and the other is named Char (short for charcoal).

Tweaker…she hated the ears. But LOVES the collar!

Buddy

Humphrey (white) Bogart (black)

Char

8. I am afraid of heights and I hate roller coasters and bridges! I remember being younger and going on the ‘ride’ at Great America that is like a giant elevator that takes you WAY up and you can see the Bay Area from atop this needle like ‘ride’. All I can recall is looking down and the ground looked like it was moving like a wave, my stomach dropped, and that did it for me.

No ma’am. No thank you.

I also avoid bridges like the plague! I have never liked them.

Oh I also hate flying…still has to do with the whole height thing. My longest flight was approximately 17 hours to Europe in 2007  for a music tour and I was white knuckled the whole time.

The S.O. and I in Venice

And finally, my nominees for the Blog on Fire award:

Run with Needles

She’s Losing It!

Wait…I’m Running?!

The Running Mama’s Blog

*phew* That was a long post!

2 responses to “Do you smell something burning?

  1. I’m afraid of heights too! At my old part-time job, I would occasionally have to be on a ladder in the back room of the store, and I would start to panic. Sweaty palms, the whole thing. It was horrible!

    • When I worked at my campus bookstore, i was the one who ALWAYS had to get on the ladder because everyone else was too short even with the ladder! My legs always feel like jello and my knees are so achy when I get down from tensing so much!

      Heights suck!

Leave a Reply

