Here is something you can’t understand…

…How I can make… BANANA BREAD…’muffins’!! 

Ok, sorry, that was corny. It was a Rage Against the Machine day on Pandora and this song came on while I was making my Banana bread ‘muffins’.

I have recently noticed I do not react well with fats…or at least that is what I am saying until I get my Dr. appointment and discuss it with him. So anything I can find now that does not involve butter or any other oils I am totally excited about.

If you hadn’t noticed I keep calling these “muffins” because I didn’t use a true muffin tin for this. I think this was more of a cupcake tin because they were not very deep as the muffin tins we have in the house. Also, these were bigger than the mini cupcake tins I have. So I am going to say I used a cupcake tin to make these ‘muffins’. They do not rise like cupcakes or muffins so don’t expect that big fluffy experience.

Instead of trying to not make myself sound any more lame than I already do, I think we should go ahead and jump into the recipe.

So, this was my first time making banana bread and followed this recipe with some personal changes.

No Butter-No Oil-Low calorie Apple Banana Bread ‘Muffins’

Makes 16 muffins

Ingredients

2 ripe bananas
1 apple, peeled and diced
2/3 cup Sugar
1 3/4 cups whole wheat flour
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt

the following ingredients you can adjust to you own liking. I like the taste of nutmeg and cinnamon. 

2 tablespoon light brown sugar because my applesauce was unsweetened

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

1 tablespoon cinnamon

1 tablespoon chia seeds *Insert Frank’s Red Hot sauce joke here*

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F
  2. Spray non-stick spray to cupcake/muffin tin
  3. In a medium sized bowl, mash the bananas with a fork.
  4. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well.
  5. Pour into greased pan
  6. Bake for 45-60 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean
  7. Allow to cool in pan for about 10 minutes or until cool enough to touch.
  8. Remove from pan and place on a wire rack to cool

So according to the myfitnesspal.com recipe creator thing this came out to being 95 calories per ‘muffin’. Not too bad I would say!

Bad Blogger!! I didn’t take pictures of the process because I really wasn’t expecting it to turn out that well. But it did! So I only have the two pictures to work with.

Leave a Reply

