The end is near…

…well since we obviously survived 12/21/12 the only “end” I could possibly mean is the end of 2012.

I would like to take the time to reflect on the events of this closing year but I will not. Why? Because I want to save my yearly recap for when I have made it through a full year in this journey for health. I want to reflect back on my start and my current progress, successful and failed challenges, communities I have joined, inspiration that was found or given to others once 365 full days have finished. I find it would be quite redundant to have an end of the year post to only have another end of my first year post about a month later. So if you were hoping to find a post like that from me today or tomorrow, please hang tight until February. Come this time 2013 I will do a true end of the year recap. But I want my first end of year recap to be in February and I hope you all understand.

 

But so this post isn’t a waste, I do want discuss my plans for 2013 and the challenges/goals I am facing.

 

2013 Challenges:

13in13

I have joined the 13 in 13 challenge from the  Weight Wars blog.

 

  • Set yourself 13 challenges for 2013, they will have a theme each month for you to focus on.
  • Each month, within your theme you will set a mini goal or two for just that month.
  • The thirteenth challenge will work slightly differently and that will be explained when you sign up!
  • You get to chose which months you participate or dont participate but if you take part in all 13 challenges you will be entered in to a prize draw.

 

JoinTheChallenge

Another challenge I am participating in is brought to you by the Fitness Cheerleader

questionmark

I have thought about doing my own blog challenge assuming I get my act together again and balance out work, performing, and blogging a bit more. So stay tuned for that information!

 

2013 Fitness/Health Goals 

(in no particular order, just as they popped into my head.)

  • Increase running miles by 1-2 miles every month.
  • Improve my running pace and work to an even 12 min/mi.
  • Return to my original clean eating habits since the holidays threw me for a loop!
  • Lose those last 50 pounds!
  • Incorporate more hills into my routine. (Hm, sounds familiar)
  • Strength train more and make my arms scream for mercy!
  • Race at least once a month.
  • Race more with friends and family.
  • Don’t allow work to become an excuse not to run!
  • Continue to bring my lunch to work.
  • Cook more at home.
  • Revamp more recipes to a healthy/cleaner version.
  • Stick to my half marathon training so I can graduate to Marathon training in the summer…maybe?
  • DISNEY!
  • Color Run.
  • Run my first half marathon.
  • Keep the 100 lbs off that I have already lost.
  • Boxing anyone?
  • Donate my miles through charity miles.
  • Run 10-15 miles a week.

That is all I can think of right now and I am sure there will be more goals as the year progresses. I will be sure to add them to my goals page when I think of them!

 

Oh, and before I end this post. I did the the double road race last weekend and if you were to ask me, I would probably have told you it was a mark of the end of the world because I willingly ran in extreme wind and rain! However, it was after the ‘scheduled’ end of the world so it wouldn’t really make much sense.

Doubleroadrace1

 

Doubleroadrace2No that is not sweat, that is straight up rain!

It was so bad I had my hood and a bright pink beanie on during a good portion of the race. But then I started to warm up and couldn’t take it. I just had to suck up the rain and do it.

Thank-freaking-goodness I put the tights on underneath the shorts!

This race was definitely a learning experience. I have learned I need to pack an actual race bag and include a change of clothes and shoes if it rains or I get soaked somehow. My drive back home was slightly miserable due to wet socks and shoes and my toes never warming up fast enough.

Next race: St. Joseph’s Run/Walk for wellness 1-26-2013

Leave a Reply

